West Virginia Department of Transportation

# **Division of Motor Vehicles**



Application for Farm Use Vehicle Exemption Certificate

1-800-642-9066 • dmv.wv.gov

#### PART I • To Be Completed by the Applicant

MAILING ADDRESS				TITLE N	UMBER IF AVAILABLE
СІТҮ		STATE	ZIP CODE		PHONE NUMBER
MODEL YEAR	MAKE	VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER			

I hereby state that the above listed vehicle is used as an instrument of husbandry and that there is a motor vehicle liability policy in effect on the described vehicle in accordance with West Virginia Law and certify that the statements made above are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief under penalty of false swearing.

(X)	DATE	 //	/
SIGNATURE OF NAMED APPLICANT			

### PART II • Certification by County Assessor or Authorized Representative of the County Assessor

The above listed vehicle qualifies for the Farm Use Exemption Certificate in accordance with West Virginia Law Code §17A-3-2(2) (d).

## \$2.00 Fee Collected Via: Cash Check Money Order

DECAL NUMBER ISSUED	EXPIRATION DATE SEPTEMBER 20				
TAX DISTRICT	MAP NUMBER	PARCEL NUMBER			
( <b>X</b> )					

SIGNATURE OF ASSESSOR OR AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE

COUNTY

#### **PART III • Instructions for Applicant**

- Complete Part I of this form. Only one vehicle can be certified per form. Only qualified vehicles may/can be used as an implement of husbandry, which if not required for farm use, would be required to be registered as a Class A (pick-up truck under 10,000 lbs) or a Class B (truck, tractor-trailer combinations 10,001lbs and over). These vehicles are required to have the words "FARM USE" affixed to both sides of the vehicle in ten inch letters in addition to displaying a "FARM USE" sticker on the windshield. These vehicles are still subject to the restricted use of provision of WV Code §17A-3-2.
- 2.) Submit the application to the Assessor of your County of residence along with a fee of \$2.00 made payable to the *County Assessor*.
- **3.)** After the Assessor completes and approves the application, the Assessor will issue a FARM USE Exemption decal for each qualified vehicle, as well as a copy of the completed application(s).
- **4.)** You must affix the FARM USE vehicle decal to the inside lower driver side corner of the windshield.
- 5.) Be sure to retain the copy of the application for your records.